University of the Witwatersrand Undergraduate Courses 2021

Filed in Education 2021-2022 by on May 19, 2020 0 Comments

Full List of University of the Witwatersrand Undergraduate Courses 2021

We are pleased to inform you about the University of the Witwatersrand Undergraduate Courses 2021

WitsĀ hasĀ five faculties, made up ofĀ of 33 schools, offering 3416 courses at undergraduate and postgraduate level.

See the information below forĀ an overview of each faculty and undergraduate degrees. Use the side navigationĀ orĀ in this sectionĀ tab to access a comprehensive list of our degrees and major subject options.


If you havenā€™t decided on a course of study or your future career, try ourĀ interactive career planner, or consider making an appointment with Witsā€™Ā Counselling and Careers Development Unit (CCDU). The Unit offers programmes designed for grade 11 and 12 students, tertiary students, and even adults wanting to make mid-career changes.

TheĀ Faculty of Commerce, Law and ManagementĀ offers world-class educationalĀ programmesĀ that equip future leaders with business, management, and legal skills, while supporting your professional development.

We offer a wide range of undergraduate qualifications through the:

  • School of Accountancy
  • School of Economics and Finance
  • School ofĀ Ā Business Sciences
  • School of Law
  • Wits Plus Centre for Part-Time Studies

Our programmes include theĀ Bachelor of Commerce (BCom)Ā with flexible major combinations, and more specialised degrees, like:

  • Bachelor of Commerce (Accounting)
  • Bachelor of Commerce (Information Systems)
  • Bachelor of Commerce (Politics, Philosophy and Economics)
  • Bachelor of Commerce with Law
  • LLB
    • Two-year stream
    • Three-year stream
    • Four-year stream
  • Bachelor of Accounting Science
  • Bachelor of Economic Science

DegreesĀ offered through theĀ Faculty of Engineering and the Built EnvironmentĀ address South Africaā€™s social, spatial, and infra-structural needs, and include architecture, urban and regional planning, property studies, and construction studies.

This Faculty comprises seven Schools:

  • Architecture and Planning
  • Civil and Environmental Engineering
  • Chemical and Metallurgical Engineering
  • Construction Economics and Management
  • Electrical and Information Engineering
  • Mechanical, Industrial and Aeronautical Engineering
  • Mining Engineering

We offer a range of undergraduate programmes, including:

  • Engineering, in a range of fields
  • Biomedical Engineering (within Electrical Engineering)
  • Digital Engineering (within Electrical Engineering)
  • Architecture
  • Urban and Regional Planning
  • Property Studies
  • Construction Studies

Faculty of Health Sciences

TheĀ Faculty of Health SciencesĀ pioneers African and global research that improves and saves lives. Join a community of achievers and help to shape the future.

The Bachelor of Health Sciences offers three fields of study: Biokinetics, Biomedical Sciences, and Health Systems Sciences.

DegreesĀ are offered in:

  • Clinical Medical Practice
  • Dentistry
  • Medicine
  • Nursing
  • Occupational Therapy
  • Pharmacy
  • Physiotherapy

You will receive academic and practical training at five major hospitals in Johannesburg, at several clinics and rural hospitals in Gauteng, and at the Donald Gordon Medical Centre, which also assists clinicians with all aspects of their clinical research.

More than 500 students graduate from our faculty every year.

Faculty of Humanities

TheĀ Faculty of HumanitiesĀ is among Africaā€™s leading centres of study in the Arts, Social Sciences, Human and Community Development, Education and Literature, and Media.

Choose between vocationally orientedĀ programmesĀ for specific careers, and theory and research-oriented programmes for careers in academia and research institutes, the public and private sectors, and non-governmental organisations.

Three schools in the Faculty of Humanities offer professional (vocational) programmes

  • Wits School of Arts (WSoA): Digital Arts; Dramatic Arts; Film and Televsion; Fine Arts and Music
  • Wits School of Education (WSoE): Foundation Phase Teaching; Intermediate Phase Teaching; Senior Phase and Further Education and Training Teaching
  • School of Human and Community Development (SHCD): Speech-Language Pathology; Audiology; Social Work

Faculty of Science

TheĀ Faculty of ScienceĀ has a long tradition of excellence in teaching and research.Ā Studying scienceĀ opens doors to careers in fields like medical research, chemistry, computer science and biotechnology.

There are nine Schools in the Faculty, clustered into four groupings:

  • Mathematical Sciences: Actuarial Sciences; Computational and Applied Mathematics; Computer Science; Mathematics; Mathematics of Finance; Mathematical Sciences
  • Physical Science: Physical Science; Chemistry with Chemical Engineering; Material Science; Astronomy and Astrophysics
  • Earth Sciences: Geography and Archaeology; Geospatial Science; Geological Science
  • Biological Sciences: Biodiversity; Ecology and Conservation; Organismal Biology; Applied Bioinformatics; Biochemistry and Cell Biology; Genetics and Development Biology; Microbiology and Biotechnology
Remember Sharing is Caring, kindly use this IconsšŸ‘‰

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.